Cal Poly Placekicker Bobby Zalud Earns Spot on CFPA Watch List

Cal Poly Placekicker Bobby Zalud Earns Spot on CFPA Watch List

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. -- Senior placekicker Bobby Zalud has become Cal Poly's fifth player named to the College Football Performance Awards watch lists for the 2013 season.

Zalud (5-7, 190, Carlsbad, Calif./La Costa Canyon High School/Arkansas State) was perfect on each of his 55 PAT kicks last fall and made 12 of 16 field goals. His 91 points scored led the Mustangs and is an all-time school record for points scored by a kicker.

Zalud also handled punting chores in 2012, averaging 40.6 yards per punt with a long of 62 yards. A total of 12 punts ended up inside the 20-yard line. Zalud also averaged 63.5 yards on 79 kickoffs with 41 touchbacks.

"Congratulations to Bobby Zalud on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Zalud is one of the nation's strongest and most accurate placekickers. Last season, Zalud converted six of seven field goals from 40 yards and beyond."

Zalud's longest field goal was 51 yards against both Wyoming and Eastern Washington. At Arkansas State in 2011, Zalud kicked a 56-yard field goal against Memphis.

Mustang junior linebacker Nick Dzubnar was added to the CFPA watch list for linebackers last week, joining senior defensive tackle Sullivan Grosz, junior running back Kristaan Ivory and junior wide receiver Willie Tucker.

A total of 32 returning players are on the placekickers watch list, including eight others from Big Sky Conference schools -- Chris Lider of Montana, Rory Perez of Montana State, Andy Wilder of Northern Arizona, Zeb Miller of North Dakota, Edgar Castaneda of Sacramento State, Colton Cook of Southern Utah, Brady Stuart of UC Davis and Shaun McClain of Weber State.

College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, selects players exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

Cal Poly opens its 2013 season August 31 against San Diego at 4:05 p.m. inside Alex G. Spanos Stadium.