65 Mustangs Earn Big West Winter and Spring All-Academic Praise

65 Mustangs Earn Big West Winter and Spring All-Academic Praise


SAN LUIS OBISPO – With 10 programs producing multiple selections, 65 Cal Poly student-athletes were named to the 2016-17 Big West Conference Winter and Spring All-Academic Teams on Thursday afternoon.

To qualify for selection, athletes (excluding true freshmen and first-year transfers) were required to maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA through the most recent term while also competing in 50 percent of the program's respective games, meets or matches.

The Cal Poly women's basketball program enjoyed four selections in senior forward Mary Kate Evans (biomedical engineering major), senior forward Hannah Gilbert (recreation, parks and tourism administration), junior center Nikki Fausey (business administration) and sophomore forward Katie Nunnelley (nutrition).

The Mustang men's basketball team produced two post selections in sophomore forward Aleks Abrams (recreation, parks and tourism administration) and redshirt freshman forward Hank Hollingsworth (kinesiology).

Cal Poly's baseball and softball programs each produced five honorees. Big West runner-up in 2017, the Mustang baseball team saw the selection of senior outfielder Kevin Morgan (sociology), junior lefthander Trent Shelton (communication studies), junior righthander Erich Uelmen (industrial technology), sophomore righthander Austin Dondanville (business administration) and sophomore righthander Cam Schneider (business administration). The Cal Poly softball program, which finished fourth among 26 teams in the inaugural National Invitational Softball Championship postseason tournament, enjoyed the selection of senior left fielder Courtney Tyler (recreation, parks and tourism administration), senior utility player Shawna McDonough (recreation, parks and tourism administration), junior shortstop Chelsea Convissar (kinesiology), junior third baseman Stephanie Heyward (business administration) and sophomore right fielder Crimson Kaiser (animal science).

The Mustang beach volleyball program produced a trio of honorees in seniors Anna Gorman (food science) and Taylor Gruenewald (business administration) and sophomore Dora Beilin (business administration).

The Big West champion Cal Poly women's golf program led the conference with four selections in juniors Sophie Bergland (psychology), Jamie Binns (biology), Desiree Gillaspy (graphic communications) and Jamie Harada (business administration).

Representing the Cal Poly men's golf program was senior Jesse Yap (industrial engineering).

Cal Poly's men's tennis program, Big West Championships runners-up, produced three honorees in seniors Ben Donovan (business administration) and Tim Tan (materials engineering) and sophomore Josh Ortlip (English).

The Mustang women's tennis squad, meanwhile, enjoyed two honorees in juniors Abigail Bacharach (communication studies) and Molly Reed (biology).

Cal Poly's women's track and field program led the conference with 22 selections. Highlighted by All-America second team selection and Big West 5,000 meter champion Peyton Bilo (biology), that list included seniors Jessica Escalante (javelin and sprints, communication studies), Kylie Nishisaka (distance, kinesiology), Mallory Patino (hurdles, environmental management and protection), Jessica Rasmussen (heptathlon, kinesiology), Nina Rondoni (400 meters and relay events, English), Allie Sulaitis (800 meters, kinesiology) and Ashley Windsor (distance, psychology); juniors Ashley Cope (distance, business administration), Maddie McDonald (steeplechase, biology), Megan Mooney (javelin, industrial engineering), Kirby Ruback (heptathlon, wine and viticulture), Bailey Sanin (400 hurdles and relay events, business administration), Danielle Taylor (high jump, civil engineering) and Keana Viss (heptathlon, wine and viticulture) and sophomores Nikki Boggs (400 hurdles and relay events, mechanical engineering), Hannah Chang (pole vault, industrial engineering), Delaney Fitzsimmons (distance, biomedical engineering), Natalie Grohmann (distance, kinesiology), Hannah Hull (distance, business administration), Megan Melnyk (distance, microbiology) and Jazmin Moreno (sprints and relay, nutrition).

The men's track and field program also led the conference with 14 further honorees. Joining Big West 10,000 meter champion Swanjit Boyal (civil engineering), 5,000 meter titlist Mikey Giguere (business administration), 1,500 meter winner Garrett Migliozzi (business administration) and decathlon champion Ted Scranton (industrial technology) were seniors David Galvez (steeplechase, mechanical engineering), Jirael Hipol (long jump and sprints, kinesiology), Jacob Rickman (decathlon, computer science), Tyler Rohde (sprints and relays, construction management) and Denny Yeager (decathlon and high jump, computer science); juniors Peter Cotsirilos (distance, mechanical engineering), Devon Grove (steeplechase, computer science), Logan Marshall (steeplechase, kinesiology) and Liam Martinez (400 meters and relays, mechanical engineering) and sophomore Alex Merder (distance, biology).