Ivory, Dzubnar Named to Big Sky Preseason All-Conference Team

Ivory, Dzubnar Named to Big Sky Preseason All-Conference Team

PARK CITY, Utah – Cal Poly slotback Kristaan Ivory and linebacker Nick Dzubnar have been selected to the 2014 Big Sky Preseason All-Conference Team.

The team was selected by sports information directors and members of the media covering the 13 Big Sky football teams.

Ivory (pictured at right) enters his senior season 38 yards shy of Cal Poly's all-time career rushing top 10 list. Named to Beyond Sports Network's preseason All-Big Sky Conference team, Ivory became the 16th Mustang to rush for over 1,000 yards in a season as he netted 1,113 yards and scored six touchdowns in 2013 en route to second-team All-Big Sky Conference honors.

Also named most valuable offensive player of the team, Ivory recorded five 100-yard games, giving him six for his Mustang career. He produced a career-high 185 yards and three touchdowns in the 2013 season opener against San Diego and also rushed for 184 yards at Portland State, 121 at Montana, 118 against Sacramento State and 100 against Weber State.

Ivory also was Cal Poly's top receiver with 33 catches for 200 yards and one score, a six-yard pass from Dano Graves in the second quarter against Weber State. He also returned four kickoffs 86 yards.

As a sophomore in 2012, Ivory rushed for 728 yards and eight touchdowns, earning his first 100-yard game as a Mustang with exactly 100 yards on 19 carries in the Big Sky Conference title-clinching win at Northern Arizona.

Dzubnar was Cal Poly's leading tackler each of the last two seasons, earning 112 total tackles in 2013 and 107 in 2012. Named to the College Football Performance Awards watch list for linebackers for the second straight year, Dzubnar's total a year ago was No. 8 in the Big Sky and No. 8 all-time for a single season at Cal Poly.

Also included in Dzubnar's totals as a junior were 7.0 tackles for lost yardage, one sack, six pass breakups, an interception, three quarterback hurries and three forced fumbles en route to third-team All-Big Sky and College Sports Madness All-American honors. He recorded 14 tackles against Colorado State, 13 against UC Davis and 12 each against Yale and Montana.

Dzubnar (pictured at left) recorded double-digit tackles six times last year and has 12 such games in his Mustang career. He has played in all 35 games since and including his redshirt freshman season in 2011 and enters his senior season with 247 career tackles, No. 14 all-time at Cal Poly. Dzubnar earned All-Big Sky honorable mention praise as a sophomore.

Selected as most valuable offensive player on the All-Big Sky Conference Preseason Team was Eastern Washington junior quarterback Vernon Adams while senior defensive end Zack Wagenmann of Montana is the most valuable defensive player.

Unanimous selections include Adams, Wagenmann, Northern Arizona senior center Roy Garcia, Eastern Washington junior offensive tackle Clay DeBord, Eastern Washington sophomore wide receiver Cooper Kupp and UC Davis junior placekicker Brady Stuart.

Cal Poly players report July 31 for Fall Camp and the 2014 season opener will be played Thursday, August 28, at New Mexico State. The Mustangs' home opener is slated for Saturday, Sept. 20, against Portland State, a 6:05 p.m. non-conference contest at Alex G. Spanos Stadium.

2014 Preseason All-Big Sky Conference Team
Offensive MVP
 – Vernon Adams, Jr., QB, Eastern Washington
Defensive MVP – Zack Wagenmann, Sr., DE, Montana

*QB – Vernon Adams, Jr., Eastern Washington
RB – Kristaan Ivory, Sr., Cal Poly
RB – Gabe Manzanares, Sr., UC Davis
FB – Nick Butier, Jr, Northern Arizona
TE – R.J. Rickert, Sr., Northern Arizona
OG – Trevor Poole, Sr., Montana
OG – Cornelius Edison, Sr., Portland State
OG – JP Flynn, So., Montana State
*C – Roy Garcia, Sr., Northern Arizona
*OT – Clay DeBord, Jr., Eastern Washington
OT – Jacob Julian, So., Northern Arizona
*WR – Cooper Kupp, So., Eastern Washington
WR – DeAndre Carter, Sr., Sacramento State
WR – Ellis Henderson, Jr., Montana
*PK – Brady Stuart, Jr., UC Davis
Returns – Shawn Johnson, Sr., Montana State

*DE – Zack Wagenmann, Sr., Montana
DE – James Cowser, Jr., Southern Utah
DT – Tonga Takai, Sr., Montana
DT - Dylan Zylstra, Sr., Eastern Washington
LB – Ronnie Hamlin, Sr., Eastern Washington
LB – Austin Hasquet, Sr., Northern Arizona
LB – Nick Dzubnar, Sr., Cal Poly
LB – Leilon Willingham, Sr., Northern Colorado
CB – Deonte Flowers, Sr., Montana State
CB – Deon'tae Florence, Sr., Weber State
S – Matt Hermanson, Sr., Montana
S – Tevin McDonald, Sr., Eastern Washington
P – Kyle Loomis, Sr., Portland State
Special Teams – Chad Newell, So., Montana State
   *Unanimous selection