Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Eleven Former Mustangs to Participate in Cal Poly’s Pro Day on Sunday

Eleven Former Mustangs to Participate in Cal Poly’s Pro Day on Sunday

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — Nine Cal Poly football players who completed their eligibility last fall and two other former Mustangs will participate in Cal Poly's Pro Day on Sunday at Doerr Family Field.

The players will display their talents and abilities in front of several National Football League scouts, starting with testing and measurements in the strength and conditioning room at the Mott Athletics Center before heading out to Doerr Family Field for further testing at about 12:30 p.m.

Slot back/wide receiver Kyle Lewis, linebackers R.J. Mazolewski and Mason Montgomery, defensive linemen LJ Mealancon, Miles Williams, Caleb Melton and Jack Ferguson, defensive back B.J. Nard and center Joey Kuperman will sprint, cut, jump and undergo tests.

In addition, linebackers Chris Santini and Cameron Ontko will work out in front of the scouts as well. Santini played in the New Era Bowl in Osaka, Japan, last July while Ontko played three seasons for the B.C. Lions and Calgary Stampeders of the Canadian Football League before being released last July.

Testing on the field will be conducted in the 40-yard dash, pro shuttle, three-cone drill, long shuttle, vertical jump and broad jump along with selected position drills.

The general public is invited to watch the workouts.

Junior Day will be Saturday at 10 a.m., also at Doerr Family Field. Interest has been received from the following seniors-to-be: Joe Protheroe, Khaleel Jenkins, Dominic Frasch, Anders Turner, Aaron Johnson, Patrick Walker, Tiasamo Savusa, Harry Whitson, Sam Ogee, Zach Shallcross, Alex Egurbide, Alex Vega and Casey Sublette.

The 2018 NFL Draft will be held April 26-28 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, with the Cleveland Browns making the first selection.

Cal Poly opens its 2018 Spring Camp on Wednesday, April 4, with the annual Spring Game scheduled for Friday, April 27, at 6 p.m. in Alex G. Spanos Stadium.