Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Big Sky's Conference Schedules for 2020 Through 2023 Seasons Released

Big Sky's Conference Schedules for 2020 Through 2023 Seasons Released


SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — The Big Sky Conference has announced its league football schedules for the 2020 through 2023 seasons.

All 13 Big Sky teams will continue to play eight conference games with four at home and four on the road. Each team will have two "rivals" it will play each season. Over the course of the four years, each Big Sky team will play each other a minimum of two times.

Cal Poly's rivals are UC Davis and Sacramento State. The Mustangs joined the Big Sky in 2012, capturing the conference title in their first season in the Big Sky.

The schedules were approved by the league athletic directors.

In 2020, Cal Poly will host Weber State, UC Davis, Idaho State and Northern Arizona while traveling to play Montana, Montana State, Portland State and Sacramento State.

Click the link at the top of the page for the conference schedules for all four seasons from 2020 through 2023.

As in previous years, Big Sky teams still have the option to schedule league members in non-conference games. The nine-week conference schedule features a bye week for each team. ROOT SPORTS will continue to produce a Game of the Week.

Eastern Washington reached the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision title game in 2018. The league had the most teams in the FCS with a seeded ranking in the playoffs and the Big Sky's presence at the STATS FCS Banquet saw a pair of individuals earn top honors in Weber State freshman running back Josh Davis (Jerry Rice Award winner) and UC Davis head coach Dan Hawkins (Eddie Robinson Award).

At the end of last season, the Big Sky had four teams ranked in the FCS Top 25 polls and two more receiving votes.

Big Sky Football Rivals for 2020-2023
Cal Poly -- Sacramento State & UC Davis
Eastern Washington -- Idaho & Portland State
Idaho -- Eastern Washington & Montana
Idaho State -- Portland State & Weber State
Montana -- Idaho & Montana State
Montana State -- Montana & Northern Colorado
Northern Arizona -- Northern Colorado & Southern Utah
Northern Colorado -- Montana State & Northern Arizona
Portland State -- Eastern Washington & Idaho State
Sacramento State -- Cal Poly & UC Davis
Southern Utah -- Northern Arizona & Weber State
UC Davis -- Cal Poly & Sacramento State
Weber State -- Idaho State & Southern Utah