Cal Poly in Fourth Place After Two Rounds of Play in Cal Poly Shootout

Cal Poly in Fourth Place After Two Rounds of Play in Cal Poly Shootout


ARROYO GRANDE, Calif. — UC Santa Barbara will carry an 18-stroke lead into the final round of the Cal Poly Shootout men's golf tournament on Tuesday at the Cypress Ridge Golf Course.

The Gauchos carded a five-person five-under-par 355 in the morning and an 18-under-par 342 in the afternoon for a 23-under-par 697 aggregate on the 6,815-yard, par-72 course on the Nipomo Mesa.

New Mexico State and UC Irvine are tied for second place with 715 totals and Cal Poly is another nine shots back in fourth place after a 368 and 356. The morning round was played in a light but steady drizzle.

Mustang senior Justin De Los Santos (pictured above) posted a pair of 71s and is tied for 13th place with his two-under-par 142 total. Teammate Cole Nygren carded a 75 and 68 for a 143 total and 15th place while Jimmy Castles followed his first-round 75 with a solid 69 for an even-par 144 total and 19th place.

Nygren had six birdies, all on the front nine, and two bogeys for his 67 while Castles recorded an eagle, three birdies and two bogeys for his 69.

Also scoring for the six-person Mustangs were Jordan Wright with a 71 and 80 for a 151 total and Grady Smith with a 76 and 75 for a 151 total as well, tide for 35th place. Jesse Yap posted a 79 and 73 for a 152 aggregate and 42nd place.

Individual leader after 36 holes is Luis Medina of New Mexico State with a 65 and 68 for an 11-under-par 133 total, three shots ahead of David Kim of UC Irvine, who carded a 71 and 65. Bryan Shin of UC Irvine is third at 138 with rounds of 72 and 66.

Medina had one eagle, six birdies and a bogey for his 65 while Kim carded eight birdies and one bogey. Tavit Garabedian of CSUN eagled two holes en route to a 66 in the afternoon round.

Nygren is tied for sixth place in par-3 scoring at even par and tied for 10th place in par-4 scoring at one under par. Castles finished minus-five on the par-5 holes, tied for fourth place.

Final round begins at 8 a.m. Tuesday morning, weather permitting, from the first and 10th tees.