Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly Eliminated from Big West Championships by Pacific, 4-1

Cal Poly Eliminated from Big West Championships by Pacific, 4-1



INDIAN WELLS, Calif. – The ninth-seeded Cal Poly women's tennis program claimed the doubles point from Pacific during its Thursday afternoon opening-round matchup at the 2013 Big West Conference Championships, but the Tigers returned to win the first four singles matches and eliminate the Mustangs with a 4-1 decision at Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

The junior doubles tandem of Jen Cornea and Gabrielle Gatewood opened Cal Poly's day by sliding past Pacific's Susan Te and Gergana Boncheva at the No. 2 doubles position, 8-3. Mustang junior Kathryn Webb (right) and freshman Haley Kepler then topped Regina Suarez and Christiana Ferrari at No. 3, 8-5. With the doubles point in hand, junior Ane McPike and freshman Louise Oxnevad saw their match at No. 1 versus Pacific's Hana Ritterova and Iveta Masarova halted.

Eighth-seeded Pacific (10-12), however, stormed back in singles action to claim the match. At No. 1, Masarova bested Oxnevad (6-4, 6-1) while Ritterova topped Cornea at No. 2 (6-4, 6-0). Gatewood also fell at No. 5 versus Te (6-2, 6-4) while Mustang freshman Anna Klavins dropped a 6-2, 6-0 decision at No. 6 against Suarez. With the outcome decided, Webb's match at No. 3 versus Ferrari and McPike's contest at No. 4 against Boncheva were halted.

With the victory, Pacific (10-12) advanced to face top-seeded, 31st-ranked and Big West regular season champion UC Irvine on Friday, April 26 at 8 a.m.

Cal Poly closed its spring dual match schedule with a 4-18 record.

Pacific 4, Cal Poly 1
Big West Conference Championships Opening Round
Indian Wells Tennis Garden (Indian Wells, Calif.)
April 25, 2013

1. Oxnevad/McPike (CP) vs. Ritterova/Masarova (PAC), DNF
2. Cornea/Gatewood (CP) def. Te/Boncheva (PAC), 8-3
3. Webb/Kepler (CP) def. Suarez/Ferrari (PAC), 8-5

1. Iveta Masarova (PAC) def. Louise Oxnevad (CP), 6-4, 6-1
2. Hana Ritterova (PAC) def. Jen Cornea (CP), 6-4, 6-0
3. Kathryn Webb (CP) vs. Christiana Ferrari (PAC), DNF
4. Ane McPike (CP) vs. Gergana Boncheva (PAC), DNF
5. Susan Te (PAC) def. Gabrielle Gatewood (CP), 6-2, 6-4
6. Regina Suarez (PAC) def. Anna Klavins (CP), 6-2, 6-0