Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly Rolls Past Loyola Marymount in 5-2 Triumph

Cal Poly Rolls Past Loyola Marymount in 5-2 Triumph

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – Senior Kathryn Webb (right) and freshman Emily Gibbens were both dual winners on Sunday afternoon as the Cal Poly women's tennis team earned its first road victory of 2014 with a 5-2 victory at Loyola Marymount.

The Mustangs (2-2) opened Sunday's win by capturing the doubles point for the third successive match. Seniors Ane McPike and Jen Cornea fell at No. 1 against Jessica Perez and Miya Jin (6-1), but Gibbens and Mustang junior Hannah Stone posted a 6-4 triumph at No. 2 versus Lauri Mueller and Kristine Kouyoumjian. Webb and freshman Sayaka Tsugai rounded off Cal Poly's doubles point win at No. 3 by edging Reka Rohonyi and Lisa Piller, 7-5.

Cornea returned in singles action to rally at the top spot for a 6-7, 6-4, 10-6 win versus Perez. At No. 2, Gibbens prevailed against Jin, 6-4, 6-3. Loyola Marymount claimed victories at No. 3, with Kouyoumjian topping Stone (6-2, 6-3), and No. 4, as the 97th-ranked Mueller edged Mustang junior Mika Padmanabhan (6-4, 6-4). Cal Poly, however, produced wins at No. 5, with Webb besting Rohonyi (6-3, 6-1), and No. 6, as McPike topped Piller (6-1, 6-4).

"We had a great team effort today and responded well from a 4-3 loss Saturday at Cal State Northridge," third-year Mustang head coach Damon Coupe said. "I thought we played a complete match together as one unit."

Following a 13-day break, Cal Poly closes a three-match road trip when visiting San Jose State on Saturday, Feb. 15 at 11 a.m.

Cal Poly 5, Loyola Marymount 2
LMU Tennis Center (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Feb. 2, 2014

1. Jessica Perez/Miya Jin (LMU) def. Ane McPike/Jennifer Cornea (CP), 6-1
2. Hannah Stone/Emily Gibbens (CP) def. Lauri Mueller/Kristine Kouyoumjian (LMU), 6-4
3. Sayaka Tsugai/Kathryn Webb (CP) def. Reka Rohonyi/Lisa Piller (LMU), 7-5

1. Jennifer Cornea (CP) def. Jessica Perez (LMU), 6-7, 6-4, 10-6
2. Emily Gibbens (CP) def. Miya Jin (LMU), 6-4, 6-3
3. Kristine Kouyoumjian (LMU) def. Hannah Stone (CP), 6-2, 6-3
4. No. 97 Lauri Mueller (LMU) def. Mika Padmanabhan (CP), 6-4, 6-4
5. Kathryn Webb (CP) def. Reka Rohonyi (LMU), 6-3, 6-1
6. Ane McPike (CP) def. Lisa Piller (LMU), 6-1, 6-4