Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mustang Women's Tennis Edges UC Santa Barbara, 4-3

Mustang Women's Tennis Edges UC Santa Barbara, 4-3

SAN LUIS OBISPO – Senior Jennifer Cornea and junior Hannah Stone (right) prevailed in both singles and doubles and junior Mika Padmanabhan's three-set singles win clinched victory for the Cal Poly women's tennis team on Saturday afternoon as the Mustangs triumphed against Blue-Green and central coast rival UC Santa Barbara at Mustang Courts, 4-3.

Cal Poly (5-9, 2-5), which produced the program's fifth victory against UC Santa Barbara (6-15, 3-4) in the previous six matchups, opened Saturday's contest by conceding the doubles point. At the No. 1 spot, Cornea and Stone produced an 8-3 triumph versus April Scatliffe and Stacy Yam. At No 2, however, Padmanabhan and senior Kathryn Webb dropped an 8-4 match to Jaimee Gilbertson and Priscila Garcia while, at No. 3, Cal Poly senior Ane McPike and freshman Emily Gibbens were bested by Kiersten Meehan and Kaiulani Boyer, 8-5.

Roaring back in singles play, Cal Poly saw Cornea top Scatliffe at the No. 1 spot (6-4, 6-2) while Stone rolled past Yam at No. 4 (6-3, 6-0) and Webb recovered to best Meehan at No. 5 (4-6, 6-4, 6-1). With the match hanging in the balance, Padmanabhan outdueled Boyer at No. 4, 7-5, 5-7, 7-5.

In the remaining singles matches, Gibbens dropped a 3-6, 6-1, 7-5 decision to Gilbertson at No. 2 while UC Santa Barbara's Paola Cos got past McPike at No. 6, 6-2, 7-6.

Cal Poly wraps Big West Conference action when visiting Cal State Fullerton for a 10 a.m. matchup on Monday, April 14.

Cal Poly 4, UC Santa Barbara 3
Mustang Courts (San Luis Obispo, Calif.)
April 12, 2014

1. Jennifer Cornea/Hannah Stone (CP) def. April Scatliffe/Stacy Yam (UCSB), 8-3
2. Jaimee Gilbertson/Priscila Garcia (UCSB) def. Mika Padmanabhan/Kathryn Webb (CP), 8-4
3. Kiersten Meehan/Kaiulani Boyer (UCSB) def. Ane McPike/Emily Gibbens (CP), 8-5

1. Jennifer Cornea (CP) def. April Scatliffe (UCSB), 6-4, 6-2
2. Jaimee Gilbertson (UCSB) def. Emily Gibbens (CP), 3-6, 6-1, 7-5
3. Mika Padmanabhan (CP) def. Kaiulani Boyer (UCSB), 7-5, 5-7, 7-5
4. Hannah Stone (CP) def. Stacy Yam (UCSB), 6-3, 6-0
5. Kathryn Webb (CP) def. Kiersten Meehan (UCSB), 4-6, 6-4, 6-1
6. Paola Cos (UCSB) def. Ane McPike (CP), 6-2, 7-6