Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cal Poly Battles No. 68 Fresno State, Falls 6-1 on Senior Day

Cal Poly Battles No. 68 Fresno State, Falls 6-1 on Senior Day

SAN LUIS OBISPO – Ane McPike prevailed in her final match on Mustang Courts, but the Cal Poly women's tennis program finished without a victory in the remaining matches as the Mustangs closed the 2014 regular season with a 6-1 Senior Day loss to No. 68 Fresno State. 

Despite conceding the doubles point, the Mustangs competed in three close matchups. At the No. 1 position, Mustang senior Jennifer Cornea and junior Hannah Stone fell to Sophie and Anneka Watts, 8-4. At No. 2, seniors Mika Padmanabhan and Kathryn Webb dropped an 8-7 decision to Sofya Malysheva and Aishwarya Agrawal while, at No. 3, McPike and freshman Emily Gibbens fell by the same score to Rana Sherif Ahmed and Tanya Murtagh.

In singles play, Cornea dropped a 6-1, 6-3 decision at No. 1 to Sophie Watts while, at No. 2, Gibbens was on the downside to Ahmed, 6-3, 7-6. Padmanabhan was bested at No. 3 by Agrawal (7-5, 6-3) while Stone was topped at No. 4 by Malysheva (6-0, 6-0). Webb, one of four seniors playing for the final time on Mustang Courts, lost to Anneka Watts at No. 5, 6-2, 6-0, before, at the No. 6 position, McPike secured victory for Cal Poly with a 6-4, 6-4 victory versus Murtagh. 

Seeded seventh for the Big West Conference Championships, Cal Poly (6-10) will face second-seeded UC Irvine (15-6) in a Friday, April 25 quarterfinal round matchup at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, Calif.

No. 68 Fresno State 6, Cal Poly 1
Mustang Courts (San Luis Obispo, Calif.)
April 18, 2014 

1. Sophie Watts/Anneka Watts (FS) def. Jennifer Cornea/Hannah Stone (CP), 8-4
2. Sofya Malysheva/Aishwarya Agrawal (FS) def. Mika Padmanabhan/Kathryn Webb (CP), 8-7
3. Rana Sherif Ahmed/Tanya Murtagh (FS) def. Ane McPike/Emily Gibbens (CP), 8-7 

1. Sophie Watts (FS) def. Jennifer Cornea (CP), 6-1, 6-3
2. Rana Sherif Ahmed (FS) def. Emily Gibbens (CP), 6-3, 7-6
3. Aishwarya Agrawal (FS) def. Mika Padmanabhan (CP), 7-5, 6-3
4. Sofya Malysheva (FS) def. Hannah Stone (CP), 6-0, 6-0
5. Anneka Watts (FS) def. Kathryn Webb (CP), 6-2, 6-0
6. Ane McPike (CP) def. Tanya Murtagh (FS), 6-4, 6-4