Cal Poly Baseball Rallies to Beat Dartmouth, 9-8


SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. – After giving up four runs in the top of the sixth inning and trailing 8-2, Cal Poly tallied six runs in the bottom of the frame to tie the contest and David Armendariz singled to drive in the go-ahead run in the seventh as the Mustangs rallied to beat Dartmouth 9-8 in a non-conference baseball game Wednesday afternoon in Baggett Stadium.

Cal Poly (13-7) held an early 2-0 lead but Dartmouth (2-7) scored two runs in both the second and third innings and four more in the sixth for its 8-2 advantage.

In the bottom of the sixth, Cal Poly loaded the bases with nobody out as Nick Torres was hit by a pitch and Jimmy Allen and Armendariz followed with singles.

Chris Hoo and Jordan Hadlock banged out RBI singles and Mike Miller doubled down the right-field line to tally two more runs.

Thomas Olson relieved Dartmouth starter Kyle Hunter and surrendered a two-run double off the left-center field wall to Mitch Haniger, tying the game at 8-8.

In the Mustang seventh, Allen doubled down the left-field line and Armendariz singled through the left side of the Dartmouth infield to score Allen and break the deadlock.

Reed Reilly (2-0) finished his two scoreless innings of work, allowing one hit in the eighth, and Chase Johnson retired the side in order in the ninth, two on strikeouts, for his fourth save.

The loss went to Olson (0-2), who allowed the go-ahead run and three hits in 1 2/3 innings. Starter Kyle Hunter surrendered eight runs, all earned, and eight hits in 5 1/3 innings of work on the mound for the Big Green.

Cal Poly outhit Dartmouth 12-11, led by Armendariz with three singles and a pair of RBI. Miller and Haniger each produced two hits and two RBI while Allen also had two hits.

Dartmouth's offensive leaders were shortstop Joe Sclafani and third baseman Nick Lombardi, each with three hits. Left fielder Matt Robinson added a pair of hits. All three had a double.

Cal Poly, which opened an 11-game homestand with Wednesday's victory, will host San Diego State (9-12) for a four-game weekend series in Baggett Stadium. Friday's opener starts at 6 p.m., followed by a 1 p.m. doubleheader Saturday and a 1 p.m. series finale Sunday.