Quintet of Mustang Football Players Land on Great West All-Academic Team

Quintet of Mustang Football Players Land on Great West All-Academic Team


SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. -- Five Cal Poly football players have been named to the Great West Conference All-Academic Team for the 2011 season.

Seniors Brandon Roberts (pictured at right), Matt Sullivan and Keaton Taylor were honored as was one junior, Kyle Mohamed, and one sophomore, placekicker James Langford. Roberts is a forestry and natural resources major while Sullivan majors in agricultural business. Both Taylor and Mohamed are construction management majors while Langford is a business administration major.

Roberts, a defensive end, earned 16 tackles, including four for lost yardage and one sack. He also broke up four passes and hurried the quarterback three times. Roberts is a three-time Great West All-Academic Team member.

Sullivan, a defensive tackle, secured four tackles, one for lost yardage, and one quarterback hurry, while Taylor, a linebacker and special teams captain, notched 13 tackles in his final season as a Mustang.

Mohamed, also a linebacker, garnered four tackles. He was honored for the Great West All-Academic Team a second time.

Langford made 41 of 42 PAT kicks and 15 of 20 field goals, including a 50-yarder against Montana and a 49-yarder against Central Oklahoma. His game-winning 39-yard field goal with 36 seconds left against South Dakota snapped a 24-24 tie.

In all, 49 football players were named to the All-Great West Conference Academic Team based on a minimum cumulative 3.2 grade point average. The athletes also must have participated in at least 50 percent of their team's contests. First-year students and JC transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

Cal Poly posted a 6-5 mark in 2011, its eighth winning season in the last nine years, and claimed its fourth Great West title, more than any other school in the eight-year history of the conference. The Mustangs, who were ranked No. 10 among all 124 NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision teams in the final 2011 Jeff Sagarin rankings published in USA Today, move to the Big Sky Conference this fall.