Williams Earns Associated Press Second-Team All-American Honors

Williams Earns Associated Press Second-Team All-American Honors

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. – For the third time in two weeks, Cal Poly senior slotback Deonte Williams has been named to an All-American football team.

On Wednesday, The Associated Press tabbed Williams as a second-team running back.

Williams was named to The Sports Network's Football Championship Subdivision All-American second team on Monday and to Beyond College Sports' All-American second team last week.

On Nov. 20, he and senior linebacker Kennith Jackson became Cal Poly's first-ever All-Big Sky Conference first-team selections.

A year ago, Cal Poly cornerback Asa Jackson was named to the All-Associated Press third team. In 2008, receiver Ramses Barden and offensive lineman Stephen Field were both first-team selections by Associated Press.

Williams, who rushed for 1,506 yards and 12 touchdowns, led Cal Poly to a 9-3 record and, in its first season in the Big Sky, a share of the conference with Montana State and Eastern Washington. The Mustangs earned their third FCS playoff berth in the last eight years, falling to Sam Houston State in the second round Dec. 1.

Williams surpassed the 100-yard mark in rushing 10 times in 12 games this season, including a season-high 188 against UC Davis. His streak of six 100-yard games from games six through 11 broke Antonio Warren's streak of five games (1995-96).

Williams' ten 100-yard games this season is two more than the old school record set by James Noble in 2005. He is the 15th Mustang to crack the 1,000-yard mark for a season and averaged 6.5 yards per carry. Williams also caught eight passes for 52 yards and a score.

Williams' rushing total is No. 2 on Cal Poly's all-time single-season list, falling 72 yards short of Noble's school record of 1,578 yards, set in 2005.

Williams finished 16th in balloting for the Walter Payton Award presented annually by The Sports Network to the most outstanding player in the Football Championship Subdivision. There were 20 players on the watch list.

A total of 15 players from the Big Sky Conference were placed on The Associated Press All-American teams -- three on the first team, seven on the second unit and five on the third squad.
The first-team honorees include Montana State senior linebacker Jody Owens and senior defensive end Caleb Schreibeis along with Eastern Washington senior offensive lineman Will Post.

In addition to Williams, the second team includes Southern Utah defensive tackle Cody Larsen, Northern Arizona punter Andy Wilder, Northern Colorado return specialist Dominic Gunn, Eastern Washington junior wide receiver Brandon Kaufman, Southern Utah junior kicker Colton Cook and Montana sophomore defensive lineman Zach Wagenmann.
The quintet of Big Sky players on the third unit are Eastern Washington senior kicker Jimmy Pavel, UC Davis offensive lineman Sean Davies, Portland State linebacker Ian Sluss, Montana linebacker Jordan Tripp and Idaho State senior tight end Josh Hill.

Cal Poly football is presented by French Hospital Medical Center.

2012 The Associated Press FCS All-America Team
With position, player, class and school:

First Team
Quarterback — Taylor Heinicke, sophomore, 6-foot-1, 195 pounds, Old Dominion.
Running backs — Miguel Maysonet, senior, 5-10, 205, Stony Brook; Eric Breitenstein, senior, 5-11, 230, Wofford.
Offensive linemen — Earl Watford, senior, 6-4, 290, James Madison; Mike Sellers, junior, 6-0, 295, The Citadel; Will Post, senior, 6-6, 295, Eastern Washington; Bill Turner, junior, 6-6, 300, North Dakota State; Roger Gaines, senior, 6-6, 320, Tennessee State.
Tight end — Kyle Juszczyk, senior, 6-3, 240, Harvard.
Receivers — Aaron Mellett, senior, 6-4, 220, Elon; Erik Lora, 5-10, 181, junior, Eastern Illinois.
All-purpose player — Walter Powell, junior, 6-0, 180, Murray State.
Kicker — Patrick Murray, senior, 5-7, 160, Fordham.

Linemen — Caleb Schreibeis, senior, 6-3, 252, Montana State; Colton Underwood, junior, 6-4, 255, Illinois State; Brent Russell, senior, 6-2, 300, Georgia Southern; Brandon Thurmond, senior, 6-2, 260, Arkansas-Pine Bluff.
Linebackers — Matt Evans, senior, 6-0, 228, New Hampshire; Jody Owens, senior, 6-0, 223, Montana State; Robert McCabe, senior, 6-2, 230, Georgetown.
Defensive backs — Darnell Taylor, senior, 6-0, 195, Sam Houston State; Marcus Williams, junior, 5-11, 194, North Dakota State; Jaquiski Tartt, sophomore, 6-1, 220, Samford; Cooper Taylor, senior, 6-5, 235, Richmond.
Punter — Sam Martin, senior, 6-1, 205, Appalachian State.

Second Team
Quarterback — Casey Brockman, senior, Murray State.
Running backs — Zach Zenner, sophomore, South Dakota State; Deonte Williams, senior, Cal Poly.
Linemen — Terren Jones, senior, Alabama State; Michael Bamiro, junior, Stony Brook; Bryan Witzmann, junior, South Dakota State; J.C. Tretter, senior, Cornell; Corey Howard, senior, Central Arkansas.
Tight end — A.C. Leonard, sophomore, Tennessee State.
Receivers — Jordan Harris, junior, Bryant; Brandon Kaufman, junior, Eastern Washington.
All-purpose player — Dominic Gunn, senior, Northern Colorado.
Kicker — Colton Cook, junior, Southern Utah.

Linemen — Cody Larsen, senior, Southern Utah; Davis Tull, sophomore, Chattanooga; Mike Catapano, senior, Princeton; Zach Wagenmann, sophomore, Montana.
Linebackers — Jeremy Kimbrough, senior, Appalachian State; Stephon Robertson, junior, James Madison; Blake Peiffer, senior, Southeast Misssouri.
Defensive backs — Robert Alford, senior, Southeastern Louisiana; B.W. Webb, senior, William & Mary; Demetrius McCray, senior, Appalachian State; Johnny Towalid, senior, Indiana State.
Punter — Andy Wilder, junior, Northern Arizona.

Third Team
Quarterback — Gavin McCarney, junior, Colgate.
Running backs — Shakir Bell, junior, Indiana State; Tim Flanders, junior, Sam Houston State.
Linemen — Randy Richards, senior, Missouri State; Garrett Frye, sophomore, Georgia Southern; Aaron Adams, senior, Eastern Kentucky; Sean Davies, senior, UC Davis; Dakota Dozier, junior, Furman.
Tight end — Josh Hill, senior, Idaho State.
Receivers — Cordell Roberson, senior, Stephen F. Austin; Kevin Norrell, senior, Stony Brook.
All-purpose player — Tyler Varga, sophomore, Yale.
Kicker — Jimmy Pavel, senior, Eastern Washington.

Linemen — Caraun Reid, senior, Princeton; Ken Boatright, senior, Southern Illinois; Joseph Lebeau, senior, Jackson State; Andrew Weaver, junior, Sam Houston State.
Linebackers — Jordan Tripp, junior, Montana; Keith Pough, senior, Howard; Ian Sluss, senior, Portland State.
Defensive backs — Kejuan Riley, senior, Alabama State; Steven Godbolt, sophomore, Tennessee State; Ben Ericksen, senior, Illinois State; Caleb Schaffitzel, sophomore, Missouri State.
Punter — Bobby Wenzig, junior, Alabama State.