Seven Mustangs Land on Big Sky Conference Fall All-Academic Team

Billy Shipman II (64) was the lone Mustang senior on the Big Sky Conference Fall All-Academic Team.
Billy Shipman II (64) was the lone Mustang senior on the Big Sky Conference Fall All-Academic Team.

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. — A record seven Cal Poly football players have earned spots on the 2016 Big Sky Conference Fall All-Academic Team.

Offensive linemen Billy Shipman II, a senior, and Sam Ogee, a sophomore, are two of five business administration majors on the list.

The others are redshirt freshman defensive back Carter Nichols, sophomore defensive back Tully McCalister and junior offensive lineman Colin Goebel.

Redshirt freshman offensive lineman David Chellsen and junior wide receiver Grant Caraway round out the list of Mustangs honored. Chellsen is an industrial engineering major while Caraway majors in materials engineering.
To be eligible, a student-athlete must have participated in at least half of the team's competitions, achieved a 3.2 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) at the conclusion of the most recently completed term, and completed at least one academic term at his/her current Big Sky institution.

Shipman, Ogee, Goebel and Chellsen were part of a Mustang offensive line that helped the team finish No. 2 in the Football Championship in rushing and that allowed just seven sacks in 12 games.

Nichols intercepted a pass against Sacramento State and notched 19 total tackles (12 solo) on the year, including nine against the Hornets. He also made three pass breakups on the year and forced one fumble.

McCalister, in his first season after transferring to Cal Poly from Nevada, made 12 tackles (four solo), including a season-high three at Sacramento State.

Cal Poly posted a 7-5 mark in 2016, including a 5-3 record for a fourth-place tie with Southern Utah in the 13-team Big Sky Conference. The Mustangs, who captured the championship in their first season in the league (2012), are 25-15 in their first five years in the Big Sky.

Cal Poly, conference champion five times in the last 13 years, including four titles in the eight-year existence of the Great West Conference (2004-11), earned its fourth NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision playoff berth in 2016.