Men's Tennis Among 10 BWC Teams Earning Public Recognition Awards

Men's Tennis Among 10 BWC Teams Earning Public Recognition Awards

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. -- The Cal Poly men's tennis team, coached by Nick Carless, is among 10 programs from Big West member institutions who received Public Recognition Awards on Wednesday for their Academic Progress Rates from the NCAA.  The number of teams earning recognition is tied for the most for the Big West since the program started with the 2004-05 academic year.

The NCAA Public Recognition Awards, beginning with the 2004-05 academic year, are given each year to teams with APRs in the top 10 percent in each sport.  Top performing APRs this year ranged from 978 to a perfect 1,000, with the majority of teams earning a perfect APR.

The 976 teams publicly recognized across the country this year for high achievement represent 594 women's teams and 382 men's or mixed squads.

In 2012, 954 teams were recognized.

Each year, the NCAA tracks the classroom performance of student-athletes on every Division I team through the annual scorecard of academic achievement, known as APR.  The rate measures, eligibility, graduation and retention each semester or quarter and provides a clear picture of the academic performance in each sport.  The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-12 academic years.

Full APRs for all teams, including penalties for low-performing teams, will be released June 11.

Other Big West teams receiving NCAA APR Awards include Cal State Fullerton women's cross country, Cal State Northridge men's and women's cross country, Long Beach State men's cross country, UC Davis women's basketball and women's tennis, UC Irvine women's cross country, UC Riverside women's tennis and Pacific women's volleyball.

"The NCAA's quintessential student-athlete exhibits dedication and commitment both on the playing field and in the classroom," said NCAA President Mark Emmert. "These teams and programs truly embody the overall values of the NCAA, and have exceeded standards to post fantastic academic scores. We are delighted by such a clear example of our membership's commitment to providing well-rounded experiences to student-athletes."

Nine NCAA national champions from the 2012-13 season are included in this year's award list: Indiana men's soccer; Louisville men's basketball; Yale men's ice hockey; Georgia women's swimming, Oregon women's indoor track, Alabama men's golf; Duke men's lacrosse; Texas women's volleyball; and Michigan men's gymnastics. BCS National Champions Alabama football is recognized this year as well.

A total of 268 schools, out of 346 Division I colleges and universities, placed at least one team on the top APR list.

Dartmouth had the most teams (25) recognized nationally, followed by Brown (20) and Bucknell (19).