Cross Country Nabs Three Big West Conference Awards

Cross Country Nabs Three Big West Conference Awards

SAN LUIS OBISPO, Calif. – Cal Poly received three of the Big West Conference's six cross country awards, it was announced today by the conference office. Head coach Mark Conover was named the Big West Men's Coach of the Year while Mitch Moriarty and Meghan Breadmore garnered freshman of the year honors.

For the second straight year, and fifth time since the inception of the award in 2005, Cal Poly earned freshman of the year accolades with Moriarty's honor.  Clocking in a time of 24:41, the Aptos, Calif., native was the highest freshman finisher at the Big West Championship with a 21st-place ranking. Chris Frias won the award last season.

Moriarty also completed at the UCSB Open, the Roy Griak Invitational and the Santa Clara Invite with his best performance coming at the Big West Championships.

Breadmore was the top freshman finisher at the Big West Championships with a fourth-place finish and a time of 20:42 in the 6K, tabbing her freshman of the year.  She becomes the fourth Mustang to earn the distinction.  Breadmore, who never finished lower than 14th in any event in 2011, holds the conference's fourth-best performance in both the 5K (17:18.4) and 6K (20:42.8). 

Conover guided the Cal Poly men's program to its 11th team title in the past 14 seasons after placing seven runners in the top 14 spots for 36 points.  This is the ninth time the Mustangs captain has earned Big West Coach of the Year honors for his work with the men's cross country team.

2011 Men's Athlete of the Year - Chad Hall, UC Riverside
2011 Men's Freshman of the Year
- Mitchell Moriarty, Cal Poly
2011 Men's Coach of the Year
- Mark Conover, Cal Poly
2011 Women's Athlete of the Year
- Rosa Del Toro, Long Beach State
2011 Women's Freshman of the Year
- Meghan Breadmore, Cal Poly
2011 Women's Coach of the Year
- Drew Wartenburg, UC Davis